Nestled within the City of Ferndale is an irreplaceable treasure called Pioneer Park. The Park represents one of the finest collections of original pioneer log cabins and contents in the Northwest. These eleven log cabins, built by the early pioneers of Whatcom County, sat alone in the early forests and rough clearings. Left to deteriorate they had an opportunity for a new life at Pioneer Park. To save them from destruction they were moved from various locations over the course of several decades to this site next to the Nooksack River. Other may be added in the future.
The public may view and tour these historic buildings in a village setting, very much like the environment in which they were originally built. Cabins over 100 years old illustrate vividly the strength and determination of the pioneer settlers who pushed back huge towering forests and fashioned dwellings from these enormous trees.
Pioneer Park provides a rare opportunity for an excursion into by-gone days, showing in tangible and inspiring ways the remarkable lives of Whatcom County's Pioneer ancestors.
1. Pioneer Headquarters : This is an original Old Settlers Association structure, built on site.
2. The Church (1876) : This structure was one of first churches in Whatcom County.
3. The Granary (1887) : This building houses farm tools associated with harvesting and milling grain.
4. Foster House (1895) : Historic photographs and artifacts are on display in this house.
5. Shields House (1885) : It is furnished and a monument to fine craftsmanship.
6. Parker House (1879) : This house functions as a general store.
7. Rogers House (1877) : This building hosts the Veterans' Museum.
8. Van Buren Post Office (1891) : The display here represents a 19th century bank.
9. Jenni House (1873) : This fine home was once used as dance hall, stagecoach inn, and residence.
10. Lopas House (1879) : The display features functional antique and printing equipment.
11. Barrett House (1874) : Visitors can view postal artifacts, antiques, and memorabilia.
12. Holeman House (1890) : This building replicates a typical one room schoolhouse.
Other Buildings Not Shown on the Above Map:
The City of Ferndale owns and maintains the Park and the Ferndale Heritage Society coordinates tours, utilizing historically trained interpreters for group and school tours. Any visitor, whether part of an organized group or not, may follow a self guided tour or ask for a staff person available during open hours. Guides wear period costumes while showing an extensive display of genuine artifacts throughout the Park.
A large meeting room with adjoining kitchen and restrooms are available to bus tours and food may be purchased with prior arrangement. Gifts are available at the general store.
Call 360-384-6461 for general information or for group tour and fee schedule.